take the shakles off my feet so i can dance

Remember the Mary Mary classic “Shackles?”
I could never listen to that and not dance or sing or shout at the top of my lungs… Sang it en route from work today.
For the first time I thought about what I was singing. Just in case you have no idea what I’m on about here are the lyrics to the first verse – the lyrics that hit me.

“In the corners of mind
I just can’t seem to find a reason to believe
That I can break free
Cause you see I have been down for so long
Feel like the hope is gone
But as I lift my hands, I understand
That I should praise you through my
circumstance”

And yes I was dancing across the square as I made my way to the station but at the same time I had this nagging thought, “How badly bond must someone be to get to that point where you don’t believe you can break free.” Yet many people are in bonds, shackled, with no reason to believe that they can be free.

Then I remembered how Paul and Silas sang hymns in jail and while they sang there was an earthquake and their shackles unfastened (Acts 16:25-26). They were just singing hymns like my mom does when she’s cleaning. No warfare. No rebuking the enemy just singing hymns and talking to the Father. But doesn’t the psalmist say that He inhabits the praises of His people? No wonder!

My heart breaks for those who feel hopeless tonight. Father I pray for your children who are in bonds and see no reason to believe that they can be freed. Send Your word into their lives and shine Your light. Write a song on their hearts. A new song for their soul to sing. In Jesus Name Amen.

Leave a comment